Novus'Olm on Leave

Post Reply
Novus'Olm
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Novus'Olm on Leave

Post by Novus'Olm » Thu Jan 30, 2014 8:56 pm

Until further notice, I will be on an administrative leave of absence.

After installing new RAM this week, my graphics card decided to commit suicide, I'm guessing. Basically, the computer refuses to boot past the "Starting Windows" logo (Windows 7 64 bit SP1) unless I use the onboard graphics chipset. I've uninstalled and reinstalled the GFX card drivers several times to no avail, except being able to boot the PC into the "new gfx card mode" only to have it stall again when it reboots. I can boot into safe mode just fine.

I've got a RMA/Tech ticket in with the manufacturer, we'll see what happens.

Peace.


Jedi Academy Info:


Visit my AoF Wiki Page for information about me.
Rules and Regulations of AoF
Rank Rules

Novus'Olm
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Novus'Olm on Leave

Post by Novus'Olm » Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:02 pm

Tech friends, here's my things:

RAM is DDR2 800 4GB (2 x 2GB paired)
MOBO is a Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2H
GFX Card is a Gigabyte Nvidia 9800: GV-N98TSL-1GI running the newest drivers (332.62?)
Windows 7 64 bit Enterprise N SP1

Yes, I did put the old RAM back in. No dice.



Jedi Academy Info:


Visit my AoF Wiki Page for information about me.
Rules and Regulations of AoF
Rank Rules

Novus'Olm
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Novus'Olm on Leave

Post by Novus'Olm » Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:13 pm

Unfortunately I'm not technically inclined enough to trust myself to flash the BIOS.. I've been hearing from Aries and a few others that if I do it wrong my entire PC is done for. Is there a sure-fire way that even I could do it right?


Jedi Academy Info:


Visit my AoF Wiki Page for information about me.
Rules and Regulations of AoF
Rank Rules

Novus'Olm
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Novus'Olm on Leave

Post by Novus'Olm » Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:48 pm

I already have the latest BIOS, so I was unable to even find the USB drive using Q-Flash. The @Bios program wouldn't work, kept giving me an error when trying to install.


Jedi Academy Info:


Visit my AoF Wiki Page for information about me.
Rules and Regulations of AoF
Rank Rules

Post Reply